2023 New York Film Critics Circle Awards LIVE!

Awards season is finally here, folks! After a relatively quiet summer mostly dominated by singing, dancing dolls and dapperly-dressed scientists/potential war criminals, it’s finally time to start looking at what the critics have to say. Last Monday saw things kick off with the Gotham Awards, and I’ll be back later this week with a recap of their picks. But for now, let’s turn our sights to the 2023 New York Film Critics Circle Awards!

The NYFCC is the group that officially kicks off the awards season every year at the end of November/early December. Consisting of major critics throughout the Big Apple, the group gathers together for a secret vote that continues through several ballots until one film reaches the majority. Last year saw Tár take home the top prize alongside big winners The Banshees of Inisherin, Everything Everywhere All At Once, and RRR. Who will today’s big winners be? We’ll find out soon enough, but I’ll be sure to update the results right here, in real time, as they are announced. I will also be retweeting the announcements over on The Site Formerly Known As Twitter, so be on the lookout there as well. You can see the full list of winners, live as they’re announced, below, starting right now!

Best Film: Killers of the Flower Moon
Best Director: Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer
Best Actor: Franz Rogowski – Passages
Best Actress: Lily Gladstone – Killers of the Flower Moon
Best Supporting Actor: Charles Melton – May December
Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers
Best Screenplay: May December
Best Animated Film: The Boy and the Heron
Best Cinematography: Oppenheimer
Best Non-Fiction Film: Les Troisgros
Best International Film: Anatomy of a Fall
Best First Film: Past Lives
Special Award: Karen Cooper for her five decades of creative leadership as director of Film Forum
Student Awards: Mick Gaw (Undergrad, NYU), Katherine Prior (Graduate, Brooklyn College)

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *