Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards LIVE!

Well everyone, it’s time for the next big critical award, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards. Considered one of the three big early critics ceremonies, the LAFCA awards the best indie films they can think of in order to give a boost at the end of the year. Last year, it worked out well, as Moonlight managed to squeak past La La Land for the top prize. They also like to shake things up, like Adam Driver for Best Actor.

In honor of today’s awards (which, due to lunch breaks and heated debate, will indeed take all day), I will be updating the results below as quickly as I can, hopefully right after their announcement, for your benefit. You can follow along below, where I will list both the Runner-Up AND the Award winner. Who will win? Will Lady Bird continue its hot streak (I say yes)? Will The Shape of Water finally get on the board (I say maybe)? Or is this the show where Call Me By Your Name runs away with it (dark horse)? We’ll find out soon enough, as these awards kick off at 1:00 EST!

Best Picture: Call Me By Your Name
        Runner Up: The Florida Project

Best Director: Guillermo del Toro-The Shape of Water AND Luca Guadagnino-Call Me By Your Name (TIE)

Best Actor: Timothée Chalamet-Call Me By Your Name
        Runner Up: James Franco-The Disaster Artist

Best Actress: Sally Hawkins-The Shape of Water
        Runner Up: Frances McDormand-Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe-The Florida Project
        Runner Up: Sam Rockwell-Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf-Lady Bird
        Runner Up: Mary J. Blige-Mudbound

Best Screenplay: Get Out (Jordan Peele)
        Runner Up: Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri (Martin McDonagh)

Best Editing: Dunkirk (Lee Smith)
        Runner Up: I, Tonya (Tatiana S. Riegel)

Best Cinematography: The Shape of Water (Dan Laustsen)
        Runner Up: Blade Runner 2049 (Roger Deakins)

Best Production Design: Blade Runner 2049 (Dennis Gassner)
        Runner Up: The Shape of Water (Paul D. Austerberry)

Best Music Score: Phantom Thread (Jonny Greenwood)
        Runner Up: The Shape of Water (Alexandre Desplat)

Best Foreign Language Film: Loveless AND BPM (TIE)

Best Documentary/Non Fiction Film: Faces Places
        Runner Up: Jane

Best Animation: The Breadwinner
        Runner Up: Coco

New Generation Award: Greta Gerwig

The Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video Award: Purge This Land

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *